Jaganmohan Palace Mysore – Hindu Architecture at Its Best!


I reached the hotel in about a half hour. It was a pleasant morning. As I arrived at the hotel, I was taken to my room, which had a perfect relaxing ambience. I quickly got in to have a shower and wanted to sleep for a couple hours so that I can enjoy the entire day in exploring places in the city. After I freshened up, I placed an order for a cup of tea. Within minutes, I was served tea. Then I cuddled up in my bed and had a peaceful sleep. I woke up around 8:30 am and then quickly referred to my schedule for the day.

Jaganmohan Palace Mysore

Jaganmohan Palace Mysore | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

First on my list was the charming and elegant Jaganmohan Place, which was nearly 6 km away from the hotel. I had already requested for car from the hotel for all my local trips. I had my breakfast at the in-house restaurant and proceeded to see the marvelous city. As we all know that Mysore is home to many palaces and elegant architecture, I was happy to be in the city to catch the glimpses of the royal lives lived. I had kept my camcorder in place so that I can capture pictures of the palace.

Enterance of Jaganmohan Palace Mysore

Enterance of Jaganmohan Palace Mysore | Image Resource : flickr.com

I reached at the palace in 20 minutes. The lovely entrance and the structure tantalized me. I took pictures from all sides of the place. The massive structure is painted all in white with a huge entrance. The tall doors looked elegant with lovely pattern of paintings on it. The palace reveals the ravishing Hindu architecture, which is distinct from others. History of the palace dates back to 1861, and it was constructed during the reign of Krishna raja Wodeyar III. Presently the art gallery has a huge collection of paintings and other articles of South India.

Krishna meets parents painting at Jaganmohan Palace

Krishna meets parents painting at Jaganmohan Palace | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Lady Painting Art at Jaganmohan Palace

Lady Painting Art at Jaganmohan Palace | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

As I walked into the palace, I was wonder struck by lovely paintings from the Hindu mythologies Ramayana and Mahabharata. Most of the lovely paintings were of Raja Ravi Varma, a renowned artist of those times. I spent about two hours within the palace and was happy to have journeyed through the past. Presently, the palace also serves as a venue to host traditional musical and dance programs, especially during the Navratri season.

Leave a Reply

