Visit to Somanathapura Keshava Temple Mysore


After a detailed visit to the Jaganmohan Palace, I thought I would have an early lunch and proceed to my next destination. I asked my driver to take me to a good restaurant nearby. I preferred to have a vegetarian lunch. I knew I would find some of the great tastes of Karnataka. The driver took me to Veg Kourt Restaurant, which is nearly 0.5 km from the palace. It is a clean and a reasonable place to have some delicious veggies. I wanted to have a traditional vegetarian meal and I placed an order.

Traditional Kerala meal on a banana leaf

Traditional Kerala meal on a banana leaf | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The meal was served on a banana leaf as we have back home in Kerala. I love to have meals on the banana leaf as it enhances the flavors of the delicacies served. The meal included roti, kosambiri, a special salad made of cereals, sambar and a number of vegetable dishes. Every flavor was different that I enjoyed the meal thoroughly. I got back to the hotel and had some rest. My next visit was to Somanathapura Keshava Temple. So I had some time to take rest. I asked my driver to be back by 5:00 pm, so that I could visit the temple. By then, I had my tea and was ready to leave for the temple.

Somanathapura Keshava Temple

Somanathapura Keshava Temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

A sculptured deity at Keshava temple

A sculptured image of a deity in Keshava temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Deity riding elephant in relief at Keshava temple

Deity riding elephant in relief at Keshava temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The temple was at a distance of 35 km away from the hotel and the driver told me it would take nearly an hour to reach the temple. I was happy with the polite and courteous driver. I reached the temple around 6:15 pm. Wow! What a wonderful ambience! The evening was filled with divinity. It is popularly known as the Chennakesava temple. The lovely piece of architecture is a visual treat for all the visitors. It is the masterpiece of Hoysala architecture.

Ganesha Scultpure at Keshava Temple

Ganesha Scultpure at Keshava Temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Floral scroll and deities in relief at Keshava temple

Floral scroll and deities in relief at Keshava temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

All the idols and the entire carvings, decorations are done on stone. The carvings on the stone are brilliantly worked. According to the names etched on stones, there were many artists from Tamil Nadu. There are many idols, including Lord Krishna. I could also see many sculptures that included royal chariots, musicians, dancers, soldiers, and camels, and so on. It was a rare kind of architecture. After spending about one and half hour, I walked out of the temple and it definitely took my mind to ancient years, which had skilled people of all times!

Leave a Reply

