Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary Karnataka – A Treat for Nature Lovers!


It was day 3 in the lovely city of Mysore. Things have been going fine and as scheduled. There is indeed a lot to explore in the city. You can truly experience the royal lives, the mansions, beautiful architecture and the glorious history. No wonder it attracts a large number of tourists to the place. The next trip was to a nearby location known as Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary. It is located at a distance of 10.5 km from the hotel. I assumed it would take about 20 minutes to get there. As usual, I had my breakfast at Swad and walked to the reception to look out for my car. And there he was! My favorite pal, the driver, waved out to me!

Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary Karnataka

Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary Karnataka | Image Resource : flickr.com

I got into the car and told him the destination. He drove me to the location in 20 minutes as expected. I took my camera and got ready to capture some beautiful pictures of the stunning and natural surroundings. Though I had visited bird sanctuaries back home in Kerala, this place looked different and covered a vast area. The sanctuary is spread across 40 acres on the banks of Kaveri. The beautiful location is the attraction for all. I saw many tourists busy with their cameras just like me. Majestic Kaveri River and plenty of greenery by the river side is a perfect home to many birds.

Majestic Kaveri River

Majestic Kaveri River | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The sanctuary is said to have more than 170 species of birds. I could see a huge variety of Stork. I clicked a few pictures. As I moved on, I could see a number of common birds such as the egrets, herons, kingfisher, and so on. Pelicans were seen in large flocks. I took some interesting pictures of the pelicans. It is said that over 40000 birds are seen during the winter season. Birds migrate for long distances like Siberia and Latin America. Besides birds, there are mammals, reptiles, plants and trees. It is a perfect place to spend a day with family and friends. After Bandipur, this is another treat of nature for all the visitors! After spending half day, I returned to the car with a lot of memories to carry home.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

