Doddabasappa Temple – An Ideal Way to Start a Day!


All of us know Karnataka is admired for its temples and the unique architecture of temples. So far I have been able to visit only the Chennikesava temple of the ancient times. After spending lovely three days in the beautiful city, I was fortunate to have visited some of the key places like Jaganmohan and Lalitha Mahal palace and wildlife parks. This time my journey was again to an ancient temple Doddabasappa that is located in Dambal, Karnataka. It is going to be a long journey as it is located quite far away. Anyway, my vehicle was there to pick me up early in the morning. I began my journey at 4 am.

Dodda Basappa temple

Dodda Basappa Temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The journey was comfortable and I stopped in between the trip to have tea and breakfast. By 11.30 am, I reached Dambal where the temple is situated.  After a long journey, I was never disappointed as there was a superb visual treat awaiting me. The structure of the temple is alluring.

Twenty Four Pointed Stellate Plan of Dodda Basappa Temple

Twenty Four Pointed Stellate Plan of Dodda Basappa Temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

I have observed in my journey that temples in Karnataka have a completely unique appearance as the ancient temples do not have any tower, dome, or crowns. Most of the ancient temples have flat roof. The intricate carvings on the sides, pillars and the interior are remarkable. The temple depicts the Chalukyan architecture.

Western Chalukya Architecture

Western Chalukya Architecture | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

I walked around the temple and clicked a number of photographs. The work on the stone requires immense appreciation. It makes us think about the hard work and the number of days of work the skilled artists put in to make such beautiful and everlasting monuments. The history of the temple dates back to the 12th century. The temple has the idol of Lord Shiva. I walked in and could experience the divinity.  It was kind of a museum for many. A beautiful idol of Nandi facing Lord Shiva is an attraction. The intricate carvings on the pillars had many figures like dancers, beautiful women, gods, goddesses, animals, flowers, and so on.

Nandi (bull) Facing Porch Entrance Into Doddabasappa Temple at Dambal

Nandi (bull) Facing Porch Entrance Into Doddabasappa Temple at Dambal | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Well-maintained temple and surroundings are worth a visit. I was fortunate to have visited the beautiful temple and I am sure I can cherish the memories for a lifetime!

Leave a Reply

