Gollalamamidada Temple Rajahmundry – An Enchanting Temple for Worship


I woke up at around 5AM, freshened up and was on my way, in the bus, to Gollalamamidada Temple. It was at a distance of 28 kilometres from my hotel. I had the plan to visit the Mandapalli temple from there, hence took the bus that reached there early.

As soon as I got out of the bus and headed towards the entrance, the height of the “gopuram” amazed me. It seemed that the gopuras were never-ending. I could see that even at the highest gopura, there were designs on it. The gopuram is at a height of 170 feet.

Gollala Mamidada Ramalayam

Gollala Mamidada Ramalayam | Image Resource: 3.bp.blogspot.com

There were several stalls selling flowers, coconuts, camphor and several other worshipping materials to the devotees. I went inside the temple. The Pujari was performing a Puja and I waited until I witnessed the Arati. The main idols of the temple are Lord Rama, Sita and Lakshmana. The idol of Sita in saree, beautifully adorned in jewellery and garland was a blessing to watch.

The inside of the temple also was very huge. I could see some devotees sitting quietly and either meditating or chanting “Hare Rama, Hare Rama.” I came out of the main temple and saw that there was a “Prasadam” counter, wherein you can buy some and buy it for distributing to people at home.

It was in the year of 1889 that the temple came into being. I learnt that on April 19th every year, there is a wedding of Lord Rama and Sita, which the Pujaris perform on a grand scale. This event attracts thousands of pilgrims and devotees from across the country. This festival starts on the 19th of April and goes on for about 18 days.

Gollalamamidada Temple Gopuram

Gollalamamidada Temple Gopuram | Image Resource: wikimedia.org

The “marriage” ceremony of Lord Rama and Sita begins exactly at 12AM. There is a chariot ceremony followed by various worship ceremonies. There are also several competitions for the devotees during these ceremonies.

The temple authorities did not allow photography inside the temple and therefore, I could only click the picture of the gopuram after coming out. I finished with the photography and was on my way to Mandapalli temple.

Leave a Reply

