Annavaram Temple, Rajahmundry- A Place of Peacefulness and Calmness


This time, I decided to take the bus to the Annavaram Temple. It would take about 2 hours to reach the temple and since I had no other plans for the day, I decided to enjoy the bus ride. I reached the venue at 2PM. There were several small eateries serving delicious, vegetarian foods and I had my lunch in one of them.

Entrance arch at Annavaram Temple

Entrance arch at Annavaram Temple | Image Resource: wikimedia.org

By 3PM, I walked towards the temple. Lord Veera Venkata Satyanarayana Swamy Temple is the other name of the shrine. The temple is on top of a hill and from the base; I had to climb up to a kilometre to reach the top. I preferred to take the steps and I considered it a good exercise.

Annavaram Temple

Annavaram Temple | Image Resource: wikimedia.org

Once on top, the view was breath taking! I could see greenery everywhere and the sight of the villages and the fields were pretty! I went into the main temple through the East Gopuram, which is also the main entrance to the temple. The shrine, completely white, has two storeys to it.

Temple of Vana durga at Annavaram temple complex

Temple of Vana durga at Annavaram temple complex | Image Resource: wikimedia.org

The lower storey has the Yantras. It is for the “pada darshan” of the lord, which means the “worship of the feet”.  I walked up to the upper storey, which had the Vigrahas of the Lord. The idol was very beautiful, at a height of 4 metres. There were different aspects to the idol. The base represented Lord Vishnu whereas the upper part represented Lord Shiva. The idol represents the singularity of the Hindu Trinity. The architecture was so intricate that it was hard to believe that the architects carved this with the minimal tools during that era.

Sun Dial at Annavaram Temple Complex

Sun Dial at Annavaram Temple Complex | Image Resource: wikimedia.org

People consider this temple very auspicious and powerful. What caught my attention was the sundial on the temple premises. It shows the IST. I walked around the temple area for a while. I learnt that the temple also had guest-houses wherein the devotees can book rooms and stay.

Ganesh Statue at New Entrance of Annavaram

Ganesh Statue at New Entrance of Annavaram | Image Resource: wikimedia.org

I climbed down the steps to the base of the hill (almost 430 steps). There was a boating facility with a river water barrage. I learnt that this place is the Pampa Sarovar. By the time, it was 5PM; I was inside the bus, going back to my hotel.

Leave a Reply

